ACCC urging farmers to weigh in on Saputo and Lion Dairy merger – eDairyNews
Australia |28 octubre, 2020

Saputo | ACCC urging farmers to weigh in on Saputo and Lion Dairy merger

Farmers, processors, and shoppers are being asked for their two cents on Saputo’s proposed acquisition of Lion Dairy.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission is currently considering the ethics and ramifications of the potential merger between the dairy processors and is taking submissions from all interested parties.

Lion Dairy and Drinks and Saputo both operate dairy processing plants and purchase raw milk from dairy farmers and milk brokers.

The two companies own the brands including, but not limited to: Devondale, Great Ocean Road, Liddells, Coon Cheese, Dairy Farmers, Masters, Pura, Farmers Union, Dare, Big M and Yoplait yoghurt.

The merger comes after Mengniu Dairy’s $600 million purchase of Lion Dairy failed to secure foreign investment approval earlier this year.

Lion Dairy is Japanese-owned, Mengniu is Chinese-owned and Saputo is Canadian-owned.

Saputo is in the top 10 of dairy processors in the world and is the top dairy processor in Australia.

Lion Dairy has 10 processing plants and other assets in Australia.

The closing date for submissions for or against the merger is 5pm on November 5.

All submission should be emailed to with the title ‘Submission re:Saputo/Lion D&D – attention Karina Geddes/Nicholas Wellfare’

Legal notice on Intellectual Property in digital content

All information contained in these pages that is NOT the property of eDairy News and is NOT considered "in the public domain" by legal regulations, are trademarks of their respective owners and recognized by our company as such. The publication on the eDairy News website is made for the purpose of gathering information, respecting the norms contained in the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works; in Law 11.723 and other applicable norms.

Any claim arising from the information contained on the eDairy News website will be submitted to the jurisdiction of the Ordinary Courts of the First Judicial District of the Province of Córdoba, Argentine Republic, with a seat in the City of Córdoba, to the exclusion of any another jurisdiction, including the Federal.

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Related news