The Scottish Holstein Club held its annual herds competition dinner and awards night to mark what has been a fantastic calendar of events this year, with members from across the country picking up prestigious awards.
Compartir en twitter
Compartir en facebook
Compartir en linkedin
Compartir en whatsapp
Compartir en email

Held at the Radstone Hotel, in Larkhall, it was a night to remember for the club’s Holstein Young Breeders, where senior member, Alison Hunter and junior member, Rory Scott – who secured the awards back in 2019 – were awarded their overdue trophies following the competition being cancelled due to the pandemic.

Claiming the HYB senior member of the year for 2021 was Neil Sloan and junior member, Mark Bryson.

The club also held it’s herds competition, in July, judged by Wayne Inman, Witherslack, with the results announced on the evening. Eight herds took part and the winner on inspection was the Weatherup family’s Parkend and Lesmay herds, Crossgates, who now move forward to the UK Premier Herd Competition.

Other class winners included Brian and Michael Yates’ Logan herd, Castle Douglas, picking up the top production and inspection prize, and Colin Laird of Blyth Bridge Holsteins, landing the overall points title.

Milk records and inspection – 1, Brian Yates, 4440; 2, Colin Laird, 4302; 3, Brian Weatherup, 4240.

Herds inspection – Whole herd – 1, Brian Weatherup, 2000; 2, Steven Roan, 1980; 3, Colin Laird, 1960. Group of 10 – 1, Kevin Lawrie; 2, David Yates.

Milk records only – 1, Brian Yates, 2640; 2, Colin Laird, 2342; 3, Brian Weatherup, 2240.

Progeny group – 1, Colin Laird, Solomons; 2, Brian Weatherup, Atwood; 3, Andrew Wilson, Kingdoc.

Heifer group – 1, Brian Weatherup; 2, Colin Laird; 3, Steven Roan.

Best animal exhibitor bred – 1, Brian Yates, Eastford Diamondback Tabitha 2 ET; 2, Colin Laird, Blythbridge Atwood Primrose; 3, Alan Kennedy, Ettrick Ambassador Mercury.

Best heifer exhibitor bred – 1, Colin Laird, Blythbridge Fitz Georgina; 2, Brian Weatherup, Parkend Gold Chip Rubine; 3, Steven Roan, Solvend Doorman Sara.

Best bought in animal – 1, Andrew Wilson, Inspired Fitz Molly; 2, Colin Laird, Cramar Cheerful A Cutes ET; 3, Kevin Lawrie, Hydaway Dice Raquel Red.

Cow family – 1, Brian Weatherup, Parkend Atwood Betsy, Parkend Kingboy Betsy; 2, Andrew Wilson, Witherslack Mincio Joanne 2, Northshields Pharo Joanne; 3, Brian Yates, Logan Doorman Ambrosia 4, Logan Grazie Ambrosia.

Lowest cell count – 1, Steven Roan, 105; 2, Brian Yates, 131; 3, David Yates, 171.

Best newcomer – Alan Kennedy, Ettrick. Isle of Bute.

Best young stock person – Andrew Roan, Boreland of Colvend.

Most points – 1, Colin Laird, 88 points; 2, Brian Weatherup, 76 points; 3, Andrew Wilson, 58 points.

HYB junior member of the year 2021 – Mark Bryson.

HYB senior member of the year 2021 – Neil Sloan.

Parag Milk Foods on Friday said its premium milk brand Pride of Cows has now entered Ahmedabad where it will provide fresh cow milk straight from its Bhagyalakshmi Dairy Farm near Pune.

You may be interested in

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.

To comment or reply you must 



Registre una cuenta
Detalhes Da Conta
Fuerza de contraseña